olfactory cortex
The term olfactory cortex refers to a group of structures defined by histology and connectivity, namely, structures that receive axons from the main olfactory bulb. They include the anterior olfactory nucleus, the olfactory tubercle, the rostral part of the medial amygdalar nucleus ( anterior cortical amygdalar nucleus ), and structures in the anterior parahippocampal gyrus, namely, the piriform cortex, most of the periamygdalar area, and the rostral part of the entorhinal area. It is a functional unit most commonly used in descriptions of the primate olfactory system ( Price-1990 Anthoney-1994 ). Note the difference between this set of structures and the combination referred to as olfactory areas (rodent). There the focus is on an overlapping set of structures earlier in the olfactory system, which includes the main olfactory bulb and accessory main olfactory bulb and excludes a more central structure, such as the entorhinal area. Updated 7 Jun 2024.
      the accessory olfactory bulb, the anterior olfactory nucleus, the tenia tecta, the piriform cortex, the postpiriform transition area, the piriform amygdalar area, the nucleus of the lateral olfactory tract, and the periamygdalar area ( Swanson-2004 ).

Also known as: olfactory area, primary olfactory areas, primary olfactory cortex, Regio olfactoriaNeuroNames ID : 2275

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington